Subsection 7.--Manitoba

In addition to a Lieutenant-Governor, Manitoba has an Executive Council at present composed of nine members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a statutory term of five years. The Hon. Errick F. Willis, Lieutenant-Governor at Jan. 1, 1961, was sworn in on Jan. 15, 1960. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1870) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 113. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 114.

The Premier of the province is paid a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each of the other members of the Cabinet \$10,000. Members of the Legislature are each paid a sessional indemnity of \$2,667 and an expense allowance of \$1,333. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$2,500 and the Speaker of the Legislature receives an amount double the indemnity and expense allowance of an individual member.

27.-Legislatures of Manitoba, 1936-60, as at Jan. 1, 1961

Norm.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 80, and for 1924-36 in the 1938 edition, p. 115.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
July 27, 1936 Apr. 22, 1941 Oct. 15, 1945 Nov. 10, 1949 June 8, 1953 June 16, 1958 May 14, 1959	20th 21st 22nd 23rd 24th 25th 26th	5 5 4 7 5 2 1	Feb. 18, 1937 Dec. 9, 1941 Feb. 19, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950 Feb. 2, 1954 Oct. 23, 1958 June 9, 1959	Mar. 13, 1941 Sept. 8, 1945 Sept. 29, 1949 Apr. 23, 1953 Apr. 30, 1958 Mar. 31, 1959

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Jan. 1, 1961.

28.—Fifteenth Ministry of Manitoba, as at Jan. 1, 1961

(Party standing at latest General Election, May 14, 1959: 36 Progressive Conservative, 11 Liberal and 10 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Notz.-Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment ¹
Premier and Acting Provincial Treasurer Minister of Public Works Minister of Industry and Commerce and	Hon. DUFFERIN ROBLIN Hon. Errick Willis		June 30, 1958 Aug. 7, 1959
Provincial Secretary	Hon. GURNEY EVANS Hon. Stewart E. McLean	June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958	Aug. 7, 1959 June 30, 1958
Municipal Affairs. Minister of Labour. Minister of Public Utilities and Acting	Hon. Sterling Lyon Hon. John Thompson		June 30, 1958 June 30, 1958
Provincial Secretary Minister of Agriculture and Conservation Minister of Mines and Resources	Hon. John Carroll Hon. George Hutton Hon. Charles H. Witney	Aug. 7, 1959	June 30, 1958 Aug. 7, 1959 Aug. 7, 1959

¹ Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.

Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Government of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Hon. F. L. Bastedo, Lieutenant-Governor at Jan. 1, 1961, was commissioned to office Jan. 27, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1905) are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115.

The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 55, elected for a maximum term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 115.